Honorary Degrees:

Western Reserve University

University of North Carolina

University of Pennsylvania

Middlebury College

Yeshiva University

Yale University

University of Maryland

Gusbarus Adolphus University

The Catholic University of America

University of Newcastly upon Tyme

Princeton University

University of Conneticut

University of Uppsala

Johns Hopkins University

Drexel University


The National Academy of Sciences of the U.S.A. (1952)

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1954)

The American Philosophical Society (1962)

Foreign member of the Danish Royal Academy of Sciences (1971)

The Royal Society of London, England (1995)

and many others.


Morrison Prize, NY Academy of  Sciences (1946)

Enrico Fermi Award of the u.S. Atomic Energy Commission (1968)

The National Medal of Science (1971)

The Niels Bohr International Gold Medal (1982)

Oersted Medal (1983)

The J Robert Oppenheimer Memorial Prize (1984)

Albert Einstein Medal (1988)

The Franklin Medal of the American Philosophical Society (1989)

Mateucci Medal (1993)

The Wolf Prize in Physics in (1997)


Source:  American Men and Women of Science:  A Biographical Directory of Today’s Leaders in Physical, Biological and Related Sciences.  RR Bowker  New Providence, New Jersey